top of page
  • Chris Anderson

The Elgar Cello Concerto

Elgar’s Cello Concerto is a renowned composition for cello and orchestra. Elgar composed it in 1919, shortly after the end of World War I, and it stands as one of his most famous and beloved works.

The concerto is structured in four movements:

Adagio - Moderato: The concerto begins with a solemn and introspective theme introduced by the cello, accompanied by gentle and ethereal orchestral chords. The cello presents a heartfelt melody that evolves and develops throughout the movement. Elgar skilfully weaves together moments of longing, nostalgia, and contemplation with passages of rising intensity. The movement reaches its climactic point with the cello soaring above the orchestra, showcasing the instrument's lyrical and expressive capabilities.

Lento - Allegro molto: This movement opens with a mournful and hauntingly beautiful solo cello melody, accompanied by delicate orchestral textures. The melody is then expanded upon by the orchestra, gradually growing in intensity. The music alternates between introspective and virtuosic passages, with the cello displaying its technical prowess through rapid runs, double stops, and intricate arpeggios. The movement reaches a climax with a passionate outpouring of emotion, before subsiding into a tender and reflective coda.

Adagio: The third movement is often regarded as the heart of the concerto. It begins with a tender and introspective solo cello melody that is deeply expressive and poignant. Elgar's gift for melody is prominently showcased in this movement, as the cello sings with utmost beauty and sensitivity. The music gradually builds in intensity, with the cello's passionate outpourings contrasted by moments of delicate restraint from the orchestra. The movement reaches a climax of emotional intensity before subsiding into a serene and contemplative conclusion.

Allegro - Moderato - Allegro, ma non-troppo - Poco più lento - Adagio: The final movement opens with an energetic and rhythmic theme introduced by the orchestra. The cello enters with a lively and virtuosic passage, engaging in a spirited dialogue with the ensemble. The music incorporates elements of folk dance, evoking a sense of joy and celebration. Amidst the exuberant sections, there are moments of introspection and tenderness, offering a contrasting emotional palette. The movement gradually accelerates towards a triumphant climax, followed by a serene and introspective coda that brings the concerto to a peaceful conclusion.

The Elgar Cello Concerto is known for its deep emotional resonance, evocative melodies, and the way it showcases the cello's expressive capabilities. It is a work of great beauty and complexity that continues to captivate audiences and musicians alike. One of my favourite versions (and indeed the world’s) is this by Jacqueline Du Pre.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page