top of page
  • Chris Anderson

The Cunning Little Vixen - Janacek

Continuing with our composer of the month. ”The Cunning Little Vixen" is an opera composed by Leoš Janáček, a Czech composer, between 1921 and 1923. The libretto, also written by Janáček, was based on a serialised novella by Rudolf Těsnohlídek. The opera tells the story of a clever and independent young vixen and her interactions with various other animals and human characters.

Brief Outline

The plot revolves around the vixen's growth from a young and mischievous cub into a mature adult. She encounters other forest creatures, including a badger, a frog, a mosquito, and a hound, each representing different facets of the human experience. The vixen's encounters with the human characters, including a forester and a schoolmaster, further explore themes of love, freedom, and the cycle of life.

Janáček's music for "The Cunning Little Vixen" is highly evocative and showcases his distinctive style, incorporating elements of folk melodies, natural sounds, and expressive harmonies. The opera features a wide range of vocal and instrumental colours, capturing the diverse characters and settings within the story.

In More Detail


"The Cunning Little Vixen" follows the life of a young vixen named Sharp-Ears, who is captured by the Forester. However, she manages to escape and returns to the forest, where she embarks on a series of adventures. The story explores the circle of life, with characters aging and passing away as new generations emerge.

Act 1:

The opera begins with the Forester capturing the vixen and bringing her home. However, she soon escapes and returns to the forest, where she encounters other animals. She meets the Dog and the Vixen's Cub, and they play together. The Vixen also encounters the Badger, who teaches her about the secrets of the forest.

Act 2:

In the second act, the Vixen has grown into an adult and becomes the centre of attention in the forest. She encounters the Schoolmaster, who is infatuated with her. Meanwhile, the Forester contemplates his life and the passing of time.

Act 3:

The third act focuses on the Vixen's love affair with the Fox, and they establish a den together. The Vixen gives birth to a litter of cubs, representing the continuity of life. However, tragedy strikes when the Forester kills the Vixen, symbolising the inevitable cycle of life and death.


"The Cunning Little Vixen" explores various themes, including the relationship between humans and nature, the passage of time, and the quest for freedom. The opera highlights the interconnectedness of all living beings and the transient nature of life itself.

Musical Style:

Janáček's music for "The Cunning Little Vixen" is characterized by its colourful orchestrations and melodic inventiveness. He incorporates elements of Czech folk music, infusing the opera with a distinctly Czech flavour. The music ranges from tender and lyrical passages to energetic and lively sections, capturing the spirit of the characters and their surroundings.

“The Cunning Little Vixen” is considered one of Janáček's most significant works and a cornerstone of Czech opera. Its enchanting portrayal of nature, memorable characters, and poignant storytelling continue to captivate audiences. The opera's enduring popularity has led to numerous productions worldwide, cementing its place as a beloved work in the operatic repertoire. Here is an orchestral suite from the opera.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page