top of page
  • Chris Anderson

Symphonie Fantastique

Hector Berlioz's "Symphonie fantastique" is a groundbreaking and highly innovative work in the Romantic orchestral repertoire. Composed in 1830, it reflects the intense emotions and vivid imagination of the Romantic era.

  • Programmatic Nature: One of the most distinctive features of the "Symphonie Fantastique" is its programmatic nature. Berlioz provided a narrative or program that accompanies the music, detailing a story of unrequited love and obsession. The symphony is essentially a musical expression of the protagonist's passionate emotions.

  • Five Movements: The symphony consists of five movements:

  • I. Rêveries - Passions (Reveries - Passions): This movement serves as the introduction to the symphony, setting the emotional and narrative groundwork. It begins with a dreamlike atmosphere, featuring the idée fixe, a recurring musical theme that represents the beloved. The idée fixe undergoes various transformations throughout the symphony.

  • II. Un bal (A Ball): This movement represents a social event—a ball—where the protagonist encounters his beloved. The music captures the excitement and energy of a dance, with lively rhythms and orchestral colour. The idée fixe appears, reflecting the lover's preoccupation even in moments of celebration.

  • III. Scène aux champs (Scene in the Fields): Berlioz transports the listener to the countryside in this movement. It features a pastoral scene with shepherds, a distant thunderstorm, and a dialogue between English horn and oboe. The idée fixe makes a melancholic appearance, suggesting the protagonist's yearning for his beloved amid nature.

  • IV. Marche au supplice (March to the Scaffold): This movement is a vivid depiction of a dream where the protagonist is marched to the scaffold for execution. The music conveys a sense of urgency and impending doom. The idée fixe appears again, now distorted and fragmented, representing the protagonist's chaotic thoughts as he faces his fate.

  • V. Songe d'une nuit de sabbat (Dream of a Witches' Sabbath): The final movement is a nightmarish depiction of a witches' Sabbath. The idée fixe is transformed into a grotesque dance, surrounded by demonic revelry. The movement features eerie sounds, including the use of col legno (striking the strings with the wood of the bow) and other unconventional orchestral effects. It concludes with a powerful and dramatic finale.

  • Innovative Orchestration: Berlioz was known for his innovative orchestration techniques, and "Symphonie Fantastique" is a prime example. The symphony calls for a large orchestra, including notable additions such as an English horn, an ophicleide (a brass instrument), and church bells. The use of orchestral colour and timbre is central to the work's expressive power.

  • Cyclic Structure: Berlioz employed a cyclic structure in this symphony, where thematic material from earlier movements reappears in later ones. This technique helps unify the work and contributes to its overall cohesion.

  • Impact and Legacy: "Symphonie Fantastique" had a significant impact on the Romantic period and beyond. It pushed the boundaries of orchestral writing and paved the way for later composers to explore programmatic and expressive possibilities in their works.

  • Personal Connection: The symphony is often seen as a reflection of Berlioz's own tumultuous love life, particularly his infatuation with the actress Harriet Smithson.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page