top of page
  • Chris Anderson

Suite Bergamasque - Claude Debussy

“Suite Bergamasque” is a famous piano suite composed by Claude Debussy, our composer of the month, in the late 19th century. The suite is known for its impressionistic style, which emphasises mood and atmosphere over traditional harmony and structure. It consists of four movements.


The "Prélude" is the opening movement of the suite. It's characterised by its flowing and improvisatory nature. The piece begins with a descending motif that sets the mood for the rest of the movement. Throughout the piece, Debussy uses delicate passages, syncopations, and harmonic colorings to create a sense of freedom and spontaneity. The music shifts between different tonalities and textures, evoking a sense of exploration.


Unlike the traditional minuet dance form, Debussy's "Menuet" departs from the formal and structured nature. Instead, he infuses it with his unique harmonic language and emotional depth. The movement begins with a gentle, nostalgic melody that evolves into more intricate passages. The contrast between delicate moments and more robust sections creates a captivating dynamic. This movement exemplifies Debussy's ability to transform a familiar musical form into something fresh and introspective.

Clair De Lune:

"Clair de lune" is undoubtedly the most celebrated movement of the suite. Its title, meaning "Moonlight," encapsulates the serene and ethereal quality of the music. The piece opens with a series of cascading arpeggios that conjure images of moonlight filtering through leaves. The melody is both tender and contemplative, and the harmonies are lush and evocative. This movement is a masterpiece of impressionistic music, painting a vivid emotional picture through sound. Here is Victor Borge giving a sublime interpretation.


The final movement of the suite, "Passepied," is a lively and playful dance. It contrasts with the introspective nature of the preceding movements, injecting a sense of energy and movement. The movement features a distinctive rhythm and a whimsical melody that dances along the keyboard. Debussy's harmonies continue to surprise and delight, even in this more light-hearted piece. The "Passepied" is a delightful conclusion to the suite, showcasing Debussy's ability to capture various moods and atmospheres within a single composition.

“Suite bergamasque” is a testament to Debussy's innovative approach to composition. He blends traditional forms with his own harmonic language, creating music that's both evocative and forward-thinking. The suite's diverse movements showcase different facets of Debussy's style, from improvisational and dreamlike to energetic and playful. “Suite bergamasque” remains a beloved and influential work in the piano repertoire, offering listeners a glimpse into the world of impressionistic music.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page